Drug laws vary considerably from state to state. Therefore, you must be aware of the laws on key issues in the state that you are in, even if you are only visiting for a few days. While laws do vary from state to state, cocaine use is illegal across the country.
If you have been found with cocaine in your possession or you are concerned about being accused of a cocaine-related crime in Louisiana, it is important that you have a basic understanding of how the law would apply to you in this situation. This way, you’ll have a better chance of defending yourself successfully if you do face charges. The following is an overview of the drug laws in place in Louisiana.
The law on the possession of cocaine
Possessing even the smallest amount of cocaine in Louisiana will lead to harsh penalties. If you are found with less than 28g in your possession, you will face up to five years in jail without hard labor. You will also face a fine of up to $5,000.
If you are found in possession of over 28g, you will face between 10 and 60 years in jail with hard labor and a fine of between $50,000 and 600,000.
The law on the sale of cocaine
If you are found to have been selling cocaine, you will face a minimum sentence of five years in jail and a fine of up to $50,000, even if you only engaged in a transaction once. A person found guilty of selling cocaine could face 30 years in jail, and if they are over 25 and sold to minors, they will face life imprisonment.
The law on cocaine trafficking
Those foundwill face between 40 and 99 years in jail with hard labor.
As you can see, cocaine laws in Louisiana are harsh. Make sure that youif you are in trouble with the law.